Sugar Cookies

I have a confessions to make – I am obsessed with cookie cutters.  I have cookie cutters for almost every holiday and occasion, I just wish I had time to bake that many cookies every year!  I have used this recipe a couple of times  and it never fails.  But, for whatever reason, this time I must not have been paying close enough attention because I rolled the dough a little too thin.  They ended up being about 1/8″ thick instead of 1/4″ but they still taste delicious!  I would describe the texture as very tender!

 dsc010133

Sugar Cookies (adapted from: Annie’s Eats)

Ingredients

1 cup (2 sticks) butter, softened

1 cup powdered sugar

1 egg, beaten

1-1/2 tsp almond extract (I use 1 tsp orange extract)

1 tsp vanilla extract

1 tsp salt (I use 1/2 tsp)

2-1/2 cups flour, sifted

Directions

In bowl of stand mixer, cream butter.  Add powdered sugar.  Blend in egg, extracts, and salt.  Slowly add flour.  Chill dough until firm.  Roll to 1/4″ thickness on floured surface. Cut with cookie cutters.  Place on parchment lined or greased cookie sheets.

Bake at 375 degrees for 8-10 minutes.  Cookies should not be brown.

Cool, then frost and decorate.

Recipe says it yields 40 cookies, I got only 30 various sized cookies.

**Be sure to only bake the same size cookies on a sheet at a time.  Otherwise, smaller cookies will burn and larger cookies will not be done.

Icing

I made a simple icing of approximately 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 scant tablespoon meringue powder and 1 or 2 tablespoons of water, plus a couple drops of red food coloring.  Just stir together in a bowl until you reach your desired consistency.  I spread it on the cookies with the back of a spoon.  Icing will dry hard.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Annie
    Jan 29, 2009 @ 21:23:45

    I am so glad you enjoyed them! I am making Valentine’s-inspired cookies using this recipe very soon as well. Can’t wait!

    Reply

  2. gaga
    Feb 05, 2009 @ 06:48:56

    How perfect for Vday! They look wonderful.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Christmas Candy & Cookie Plan « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

