Vanilla Ice Cream

I received an ice cream maker for Christmas {thanks Mom and Dad!} and have been waiting for summer to finally make my first batch.  Well, the official start to summer was last week, so I went ahead and made some ice cream on my day off last week!

A few days before that, I asked Tim what flavor he wanted.  I fully expected him to say that he didn’t care and that whatever I wanted would be fine.  His response was quite the opposite and very passionate!  He looked at me like I had 4 heads and almost didn’t dignify my [apparently] stupid question with a response.  After carrying on for a while, acting like I was the crazy one without any common sense, he finally said that it would be crazy to break in the new ice cream maker with anything other than plain VANILLA!

Of course, I had been contemplating all sorts of flavors and mix-ins since receiving the gift, but I was quite happy to appease Tim and make plain vanilla ice cream.  After all, it would be my first time using whole vanilla beans, so that would be fun enough for me!

Vanilla Ice Cream

{Source: adapted from Elly Says Opa!, originally by David Lebovitz}

2 cups heavy cream, divided
1 cup whole milk
3/4 cup sugar
pinch of salt
1 vanilla bean, split lengthwise
6 large egg yolks
3/4 tsp. vanilla extract

Warm the milk, sugar, 1 cup of cream and tiny pinch of salt in a medium saucepan.  Scrape the seeds from the vanilla bean into the warmed milk, and then add the bean itself.  Cover the pan, remove from the heat, and let steep for 30 minutes.

Pour the remaining 1 cup cream into a large bowl, and set a mesh strainer over the top.  In a separate bowl, whisk the egg yolks.  Very slowly add the warm milk mixture into the egg yolks, whisking constantly, and then scrape back into the saucepan.

Stir the mixture constantly over medium-low heat with a heatproof spatula or wooden spoon, scraping the bottom as you stir, until the mixture thickens and coats the spatula (don’t boil!).  Pour the custard through the strainer and stir it into the cream.  Add the vanilla bean to the custard, stir in the vanilla extract, and then stir until cool over an ice bath.

Chill the mixture in your refrigerator. When ready to churn, remove the vanilla bean and churn according to the manufacturer’s instructions.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Country Peach Ice Cream « EASY AS PIE!
  2. Trackback: Root Beer Bundt Cake « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

