Baked Potato Soup

In my neck of the woods tonight its cold and snowy. That just screams SOUP to me.  I’ve been craving this soup for a few days, so I thought it would be perfect. I’ve experimented with this over the past year and a half and have, in my opinion, perfected it.  Its thick and delicious! I haven’t tried it in a bread bowl yet, but I plan to do so soon.  I know it would be fabulous! When reheating for serving later, add some milk to thin it out. Enjoy and try not to think about the calories!

Baked Potato Soup

6 medium baking potatoes

6 cups skim milk

10 Tbsp. butter

2/3 cup flour

6 green onion, chopped

1/2 pound bacon, cooked and crumbled (can substitute cooked chopped ham)

1 cup fat free sour cream

1 cup shredded cheddar cheese

dash crushed red pepper and black pepper

salt, to taste if you want (I don’t because the bacon is salty and I used salted butter)

Directions:

Cook bacon, crumble and set aside.

Bake potatoes until tender. When they are done, cut up half of them with skins on. You want them to be in small bite size pieces. With the other half, scoop the potatoes out of the skins and discard skins. Chop and partially mash these potatoes.  Set aside.

Meanwhile, make a light roux with the butter and flour in a large pot, cooking a few minutes to get rid of the flour taste.  Then, add the milk as you stir constantly.  Bring to a simmer to thicken, stirring often.  Once thick, add potatoes, green onions, sour cream, and seasonings.  Mix thoroughly. Then add bacon and cheddar cheese. Stir until melted. It will be very thick!

Optional garnish combinations, mix and match any of the following:

additional chopped green onion; shredded cheese; croutons; chopped parsley, basil or chives; or oyster crackers.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Judie
    Dec 25, 2008 @ 22:50:53

    I would love to have you share this wonderful recipe with my readers.

    http://www.best-potato-recipes.com/share-a-favorite-recipe.html

    All my best
    Judith

    Reply

Leave a Reply

