Thanksgiving Pie

I’m usually in charge of the pies for Thanksgiving and I love to do it.  I’ve been making pie with my Mom for as long as I can remember.  I don’t know why, but pie dough doesn’t freak me out like it does some people.  I just don’t overthink it.  So, its one of my specialties.  Luckily, pie is my husband’s favorite dessert.  That’s why we’re meant to be, I guess.

So this year, I made one pecan pie and two pumpkin pies.

dsc00930

 

I don’t want to re-type the recipes, so here are the links. They are tried and true for sure!

Pecan Pie from the Karo Syrup bottle.

Pumpkin Pie from Libby’s Pumpkin puree can.  I double this for one deep dish pie pan and one very shallow (tart?) pan. When I measure the spices, I use heaping measurements because we like the warm spice taste. Or, I have used one 1/2 teaspoon of Pumpkin Pie Spice in addition to the recipe as well.

Pie Crust from The Pioneer Woman.

BE SURE TO COVER THE EDGES WITH FOIL SO THEY DON’T OVER BROWN!

dsc00931

Leave a Reply

