Swedish Meatballs

The other day I was talking about IKEA with some friends and they mentioned the wonderful Swedish Meatballs that they have eaten there.  Well, I’ve only been to IKEA once and didn’t eat anything while I was there, but it sounded like a meal that I would enjoy so I decided to give them a try.  It sounded perfectly comforting on a harsh (-17 degree) winter night.

I adapted this recipe from my Better Homes and Gardens Special Breast Cancer Edition cookbook (page 362) and this blog.

Swedish Meatballs

2 beaten eggs

1/4 cup milk

3/4 cup bread crumbs (I used plain store bought)

1 medium onion (1/2 cup), very finely chopped

1/4 teaspoon black pepper

1/2 teaspoon nutmeg, or 1/4 tsp allspice and 1/4 tsp nutmeg (I used all nutmeg)

a few pinches of salt

1 pound ground beef

1/4 cup fresh parsley, chopped. Plus more for garnish. I omitted all together because I didn’t have any, but I think it was missed so I wouldn’t skip it in the future.

4 tablespoons butter, divided

1/4 cup all-purpose flour

3 cups beef broth

1/2 cup cream (I used milk)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees and line 2 baking sheets with parchment paper.  Set aside.

In a medium saute pan, melt 1 tablespoon of butter.  Add the onion and a pinch of salt and cook until onion is soft.

In a large bowl, mix ground beef, 1/4 cup of milk, 2 eggs, bread crumbs, sauteed onions, nutmeg, black pepper, another pinch of salt and  parsley.  Once mixed, form into small balls and place on baking sheets.  Bake for 12-15 minutes. (I tried to brown them in batches in a skillet first, but they started to fall apart and it didn’t really work out so I just baked them off.)

While the meatballs bake, melt the remaining 3 tablespoons of butter in a large skillet over medium heat.  Add the flour and whisk until light brown, about 2 minutes.  Gradually add the beef stock and whisk until it starts to thicken.  Add cream or milk and continue to cook until it reaches the desired consistency.  (Like Ally, I had to add a slurry of cornstarch and cold water to thicken it more.) 

Reduce heat to simmer and add the cooked meatballs to the sauce while you prepare the egg noodles. Once noodles are done, stir in a little butter so they don’t stick together, plate them and serve meatballs and sauce over the top.  Garnish with parsley. Enjoy!

I would say that this turned out pretty well but not fantastic.  I thought the sauce was a little bland and like I said above, the parsley was definitely missed.  Next time, I will add more seasoning (salt, pepper, and allspice), use cream or half and half instead of the milk at the end, and possibly use a combo of beef and pork for more flavor.  I also had a problem with the sauce being lumpy.  I don’t know how to fix that but I don’t think it affected the taste.  Any suggestions would be appreciated!

dsc01001

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Menu 1-24-10 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

