Weekly Grocery Bill

Yikes!  It is the second week of posting my grocery bill total and I’m right back to where I didn’t want to be!  I spent $81.00!!!!!! Ouch!

In my defense, I purchased several items for my Super Bowl spread that I normally wouldn’t buy.  But, this isn’t about excuses.  I know I’ll have some weeks higher than others.  I’ll just have to be way more frugal on the weeks that there are no special occasions.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. adventuresandmusings
    Feb 01, 2009 @ 23:49:08

    I use a lot of coupons when grocery shopping. I buy only things that are on sale with coupons. I think for the past few weeks I have averaged about $75 total on food/toiletries/cleaning supplies etc. I stocked up so much stuff that this week I purchased only milk and cheese.

    How many people are in your family?

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 14:24:42

    I’m jealous of your $81 grocery bill! I have a horrible tendency to spend closer to $200 per week and really need to bring that down. (And that’s without buying very much meat or very many prepared products. We must have expensive tastes!)

    Reply

  3. earley2006
    Feb 02, 2009 @ 15:28:54

    I used to average around $75 too, but I’m really trying to get it below $50 per week.
    There are only 2 people in my family.
    Coupons don’t seem to work for me…I clip them and take them with me but normally the store brand is still cheaper than the name brand with the coupon!
    I don’t buy very much meat either – We buy that in bulk a couple times a year. So, that’s not even factored into my grocery bills.
    Oh well, I’ll keep trying!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

