PW’s Cookie Spreads

This simple bar type cookie is soft and delicious, with a prominent brown sugar flavor.  It would be a great recipe to make with kids because it is so easy.  They would also make a terrific last minute dessert.

dsc01064

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Spreads (source:  The Pioneer Woman)

1 cup brown sugar
1 cup margarine
1 egg
2 cups flour
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon vanilla
6 to 8 ounces chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix together (by hand) brown sugar and margarine. Add egg and mix together. Add flour, salt, and vanilla, and mix together well (all mixed by hand).
Spread dough onto cookie sheet to a thickness of 1/4 to 1/2-inch.
Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, or until slightly brown.
Sprinkle chocolate chips evenly over the top. Return to oven for 1 minute.
Remove and spread melted chips over the top.
Cut into squares.

dsc010611

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. jenjw4
    Feb 27, 2009 @ 21:05:52

    Those look really good, and easy. Last night I made a PW recipe, for the baked fudge. It was a bit too sweet. I think I would lower the sugar next time, and I definitely have a sweet tooth.
    Actually, now that I think about it, I made two PW recipes last night because we also had the crash potatoes recipe with dinner. Those were good. My red potatoes were a bit big, so they did take a bit longer in the oven.

    Reply

    • earley2006
      Feb 28, 2009 @ 04:22:10

      I have the baked fudge recipe saved to make soon too! I can’t wait! I’ll lower the amt. of sugar – thanks!
      I’ve made the crash potatoes as well and I don’t think I boiled them long enough because they were a little hard to mash. I hope to try them again soon!
      I just the Pioneer Woman’s site!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

