Coconut Pecan Blondies

I had some baking ingredients on hand that needed to be used up so I decided to throw together some blondies to take to work.  They are soft and flavorful!

dsc01114

Blondies

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, melted and cool

3/4 cup brown sugar

1 egg

1 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 tsp coconut extract

1/4 tsp salt

1 tsp baking powder

1 cup flour

1-1/2 cup mix-ins (I used approx. 1/2 cup each of shredded coconut, chopped pecans, and white chocolate chips).

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Cream melted butter and brown sugar together with mixer.  Add egg and combine. Then add vanilla and combine.  Slowly add the flour, salt, and baking powder.  Stir to combine.  Then add in the mix-ins.

Spread in a bar pan and bake for 20-25 minutes or until golden brown.  Cool in the pan for at least 10 minutes, then cut into bars and cool completely on wire racks.

dsc01113

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Source:  ingredient list adapted from a 2004 issue of Taste of Home magazine and my own method.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bakingblonde
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 02:31:24

    I love blondie and these sound great!
    I make a pan at least once a week!

    Reply

  2. michelle
    Mar 01, 2009 @ 13:01:53

    Those look great, I wish that my husband liked coconut!

    Reply

  3. Jennifer
    Mar 02, 2009 @ 18:55:54

    My kids love blondies, but hate coconut. They are so weird! Those look fabulous, so now I just need to think of who I can feed them to, so I don’t end up eating them all myself!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

