Chocolate Truffle Pie

This is a very rich and decadent dessert that we really enjoyed. I saved this recipe a couple of years ago and never got around to making it. So when I found myself with a open box of chocolate squares plus one whole box I knew my opportunity had arrived! This is a very easy recipe with just 5 ingredients but it could certainly pass as a fancy dessert made to impress.  One addition I will make in the future is a pinch of salt..for some reason I think it really needs it to balance the rich chocolate and sweetness.

dsc01174

Chocolate Truffle Pie (adapted from Baker’s Chocolate)

Ingredients

1-1/4 pkg. (10 squares) BAKER’S Semi-Sweet Chocolate
1/2 cup whipping cream
4 eggs
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup flour
1 cup fresh whipped cream or Cool Whip – optional
pinch of salt
Directions

Heat oven to 325°F. Microwave chocolate and cream in microwaveable bowl on HIGH 2 min. or until chocolate is almost melted. Stir until completely melted. Cool slightly.
Whisk in eggs, sugar and flour and salt. Pour into greased 9-inch pie plate. I used a 9″ round cake pan.
Bake 35 min. or until edge of pie is puffed but center is still slightly soft. Rotate pan half way through baking to ensure even baking. I forgot to do this and ended up with a lopsided pie. Serve with dusting of powdered sugar and/or a dollup of whipped cream.

dsc01177

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jenjw4
    May 06, 2009 @ 16:39:38

    Wow, that looks decadent and delicious! I love rich chocolatey desserts.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

