Quiche

Recently, I’ve been seeing several posts for different quiche recipes on the blogs that I follow, so I decided to make one.  Tim and I love to have a big breakfast/brunch on days off so I knew this would be perfect and very filling.  Since he usually sleeps in several hours later than me, I could prepare it and have it ready to serve when he woke up.

I adapted this recipe from the Pioneer Woman.  No big surprise there, most of my recipes are inspired by her!  I did change the filling based on what I had on hand though.

DSC01207

Quiche

Ingredients:

1/2 recipe Perfect Pie Crust
7 eggs (I used 5)
1 1/2 cups heavy cream (I used 1 cup of milk and 1/2 cup sour cream)
2 cups grated Swiss cheese (I used 1 cup Romano and 1/2 cup pepper jack)
salt and pepper to taste
3/4 pound thick cut peppered bacon (I used about 8 slices)
1 stick butter (I omitted)
1 large or 2 medium yellow onions, very thinly sliced (I used 1)
2 boxes white mushrooms, washed and sliced (I used 1 can)
1 can quartered artichoke hearts (I omitted)
Optional: fresh parsley, fresh chives (I used dried)

I added 1/2 of a green bell pepper, chopped

Directions:

In a skillet, fry bacon until crisp. Crumble and set aside. Pour out excess grease but don’t clean the pan (I drained all but 1 tablespoon of grease).
Add onions and cook for a few minutes. Add mushrooms and green peppers and cook for a few more minutes.  Salt mixture to taste.
Remove from heat and allow to cool for about 20 minutes.
Roll out pie crust and press into deep dish tart pan. (May also use 2 standard pie crusts for this recipe.) I used a regular pie dish.
In a large bowl, beat eggs with milk and sour cream. Add grated cheese, salt and pepper, and set aside.
With a slotted spoon, add mushroom mixture into egg/milk mixture. Stir together. Add bacon and stir.
Add parsley or chives, if desired.
Pour into pie crust and press to submerge ingredients.
Cover loosely with foil, place on a baking sheet, and bake at 400 degrees for 1 hour. Bake for slightly longer if quiche is overly jiggly.
Remove from oven and allow to set for ten minutes before serving. Remove quiche from pan and slice into wedges.

Enjoy!

DSC01209

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    May 14, 2009 @ 17:57:41

    I adore quiche. My kids will even eat it, as long as they like the filling. It’s such an easy way to use up leftovers, too, and there are so many ways to make the crust. I’ve used crescent roll dough before, a simple oil-based crust (that could be pressed in, instead of rolled out), hashbrowns, crustless, you name it.

    My favorite kind has mushrooms, green onions, diced tomatoes, feta cheese and garlic. But I’m thinking of experimenting and making a mexican version, using tomato, jalapeno, pepperjack cheese, and black beans.

    Oh, and I love Pioneer Woman, too. She’s has such a good sense of humor and is such a great photographer. I wish my photos came out 1/2 as good!

    Reply

  2. Angie D
    May 17, 2009 @ 22:37:28

    I finally sat down and printed all of the recipes that I want to try. I love reading your blog…keep up the good work! Love ya!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

