Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

Wow, I haven’t posted in a loooong time!  Sorry about that!  We’ve been adjusting to some new work schedules, eating things that I’ve already posted, and grilling out a ton!   I don’t think there is much to say about throwing a steak, hamburger, or pork chop on the grill and serving it up with a side of steamed broccoli and baked potato.

But in any case, I do have a few recipes to share at the moment.  Starting with this dip that I made for Memorial Day weekend.  I wanted to have something to snack on over the course of the holiday weekend and this was perfect with crackers and raw veggies.

DSC01238

Roasted Red Pepper Hummus

(loosely adapted from Robin Miller at foodtv.com)

  • 1 (15-ounce) can chickpeas, lightly drained
  • 1 jar roasted red pepper, drained
  • 1/3 cup tahini (sesame paste)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice – or to taste
  • 3 to 4 cloves garlic
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • Salt and ground black pepper to taste
  • dash of paprika to taste

Drain pepper and chickpeas (some liquid is OK) and place in food processor.  Add remaining ingredients and pulse to combine. Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.  If consistency is not as smooth as desired, stream in some EVOO while processor is running.  Serve with raw veggies, pita, or crackers.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. jenjw4
    Jun 12, 2009 @ 18:03:08

    I love hummus and have started making a variation that uses walnuts, rather than tahini paste (I know, not traditional, but I live in a town of 1600 with a grocery store that has 4 very short aisles) and it’s really good, too. I’ll have to try the variation with red pepper, as I really love roasted red peppers and love cumin, too.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

