Broccoli Salad

I can’t believe I haven’t put this on the blog yet because I make it so often!  It is without a doubt, my signature salad.  I made it for my husband’s family when we first started to date, and I’m pretty sure it is one of the reasons they liked me so much.  🙂  I have been making it for many years and I got the recipe from Mom.  I’m not sure of the original source.

I make it so often now that I don’t even measure the ingredients, I just go by eye and dump it all together!  I have also found that you can omit and/or substitute quite a few things too and it is always delicious.  For example, when I made it last night I left out the onion.  I’ve left out the bacon and cheese before too.  Regular raisins or dried cranberries can be substituted for the golden raisins.  And lastly, you can add about 3/4 cup of sliced grapes or chopped apples for a change if you would like.  Enjoy!

terrible pic

terrible pic

Broccoli Salad – makes approx. 10 servings

Ingredients

7 cups chopped fresh broccoli florets (about 3 large bunches)

1/2 cup golden raisins

1 small red onion, finely chopped

1/2 cup shelled sunflower seeds

1/2 pound bacon (about 8 slices), cooked, drained and crumbled (store-bought real bacon bits work just fine too)

1 cup mayonnaise – I use reduced fat

3 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons white vinegar

1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese for optional topping

Directions

Cook and crumble the bacon and set it aside.  Clean the broccoli and then chop it into florets.

Mix the mayo, sugar and vinegar together with a whisk in a small bowl (or put in a jar with a lid and shake) until sugar is dissolved.

In a large bowl, combine the broccoli, seeds, raisins, onion, and bacon.  Pour the dressing over the top and stir to combine.  Top with the shredded cheese and refrigerate before serving.

Also a blurry picture...

Also a blurry picture...

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Asian Cabbage Salad « EASY AS PIE!
  2. Trackback: Soda Pop Chops with Smashed Potatoes « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

