Appetizer Night!

With Tim and I eating dinner together now, I have had to come up with more complete meal menus for every night.  And to tell the truth, I’m running out of ideas which explains last night’s meal.  Appetizers!  I made Pigs in a Blanket (lol) and bacon wrapped jalapenos.

Back when I was fixing and eating dinner alone a few months ago,  I tended to wing it and not necessarily fix a complete meal every night.  For that matter, I didn’t even cook every night.  Sometimes I’d eat leftovers or a bowl of cereal.  Also, I used to do most of my meal planning (recipe research, reading blogs and cookbooks, etc) in the evenings when I was home alone.  Now, he is home and my schedule has been thrown off.

I hope to develop a routine soon as far as meal planning and grocery shopping.  But for now, we’re eating some pretty random things.

DSC01323

Pigs in a blanket

approximately half a package of cocktail wieners (or regular hot dogs cut in half or thirds)

1 can of crescent rolls

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cut each crescent roll into 2 triangles.   Wrap each hot dog in a crescent roll and place on a baking sheet.  Bake for 12-14 minutes or until golden.

The next recipe is one that I make ALL.THE.TIME.   Since we grow our own jalapenos we have several to use up throughout the summer and this is primarily how I choose to use them.  YUMMY!  This time I stuck to the simple 3 ingredient recipe, but last year I made them so often that I started experimenting with different additions to the filling.  I would recommend mixing the cream cheese with any combination of the the following to boost the flavor:   cooked and crumbled sausage, garlic powder, shredded cheddar cheese, and/or chopped green onion.

Bacon Wrapped Jalapeno Bites

recipe from the Pioneer Woman

Adjust the quantities for the amount of people you are serving.

bacon or turkey bacon (approx 5 slices)

cream cheese, softened (about 2-3 oz.)

fresh jalapenos (We used about 9 whole jalapenos = 18 bites)

Preheat the oven to 375 degrees and line a baking sheet with foil.  If you are using regular bacon, place a rack over the foil (like a cookie cooling rack) so the bites don’t sit in the bacon fat.  I used turkey bacon so I didn’t use a rack.

Cut the bacon slices in half or thirds –  it kinda depends on the size of the jalapenos.  Ours were kind of small, so I did thirds.

Slice each jalapeno in half and clean out the seeds and membrane.

Fill the jalapeno halves with cream cheese and wrap with bacon pieces.  Secure with toothpicks if necessary.  Place on baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes.

These are great served warm, but they are also terrific served at room temp. So if you are having a party, go ahead and make them ahead of time.

ENJOY!

DSC01324

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 17, 2009 @ 15:24:34

    I go through cycles with my meal planning. Sometimes I do really well, other times, not so much!
    I read a lot of food blogs, cooking magazines and cookbooks, so I think sometimes it’s overload (too many ideas) rather than not enough. I’m really thinking of starting theme nights. Like “breakfast for dinner,” “pasta,” “Homemade pizza,” “Mexican,” “Wild card,” etc, and assigning them a day of the week. That might help me focus, I’m thinking.
    Oh, and I shouldn’t forget, LEFTOVER night! (which will be a delicious combo of pizza, waffles, spaghetti, LOL)

    I loved the bacon wrapped jalapenos. I make a similar recipe, except I add shredding sharp cheddar cheese to the cream cheese mixture and I use pre-cooked bacon (the kind that is shelf stable and used to always creep me out. It works well for this recipe, as the bacon gets crispy without overcooking the jalapenos. You can also partially cook regular bacon in the microwave and then use it.)

    Reply

    • Beth
      Jul 17, 2009 @ 21:12:04

      I agree. I need to find a balance of finding and trying new recipes, but also focusing on the things I alread know and making them too!
      Great tip about the pre-cooked bacon! Thanks!

      Reply

  2. Trackback: Green Beans with Bacon « EASY AS PIE!
  3. Angie D
    Oct 20, 2009 @ 03:00:32

    I was searching for this recipe b/c I have to use up my jalapenos (starting to get wrinkly). But I wanted to share that Matthew likes to 1/2 a piece of American cheese and put between the weiner and crescent roll. A Cheesy dog.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Game Day Grub « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

