Blueberry Struesel Muffins

I picked up a large package of blueberry’s at Sam’s over the weekend without any plan in mind of how to use them.  I just new they looked delicious and I could not pass up the great price.  The hubs suggested blueberry scones, but I was in the mood for something new.

I skimmed through my Google Reader and found this recipe from Ellie – one of my favorite bloggers!  Seriously everything she posts looks delicious!  I guess I should have been born in the South because southern food is one of my favorite types!  I only made one adaptation and that was adding about a teaspoon of cinnamon to the batter, so that the struesel topping flavor would be present in the muffin as well.  Very Delicious!

DSC01328

Blueberry Streusel Muffins
recipe adapted from Vintage Victuals

1/3 cup sugar

1/4 cup butter, softened

1 egg

2 1/3 cups flour

4 teaspoons baking powder

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon – not in original recipe

1 cup milk (I used 2%)

1 teaspoon vanilla

1 1/2 cups blueberries

1/2 cup sugar
1/3 cup flour
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
1/4 cup butter, softened

Preheat your oven to 375 degrees, and grease or line 18 muffin cups.

In an electric mixer bowl, cream sugar and butter until light and fluffy. Add egg and beat until well-combined.

In a separate bowl, combine flour, baking powder and salt (and cinnamon if you want).  Add to creamed mixture alternately with milk, stirring well after each addition.

Finally, stir in vanilla and blueberries. Spoon batter into greased or lined muffin cups, filling two-thirds of the way full.

For topping, combine the sugar, flour, and teaspoon cinnamon. Cut in the butter with a fork or pastry blender until mixture resembles crumbs. Sprinkle on top of muffin batter.

Bake at 375 degrees for 25 – 30 minutes or until golden brown. Yield ~ 18 muffins.   (I got 19 muffins and they were done baking at exactly 25 minutes.)

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ellie
    Jul 20, 2009 @ 15:13:13

    Glad you liked the muffins! I love your idea of adding cinnamon to the batter – I’ll have to try that next time!

    Reply

Leave a comment