Baby Shower

A few weeks ago, I had the pleasure of co-hosting a baby shower for a good friend of mine expecting her second child.  My other friend and co-host created 3 games, as well as made the punch and veggie and fruit tray.  Since the shower was held at 2:00, we didn’t feel the need for tons of food because it was between lunch and dinner.

Here’s what I made:

diaper cake

DSC01233

There are plenty of “how to” videos out there on the web, so I’ll try to keep this short.  This is basically what I did:

I bought a package (75 count maybe) of newborn diapers (or size 1) in a mostly solid white color.  They did have a little blue/purple theme going on at the top, but I was able to roll that under (solid white is ideal though).

Other supplies I had on hand:  large glass cake pedestal, 12″ wooden dowel rods, and a ton of rubber bands in various sizes – you will definitely need some really large ones though (they should measure about 7″ unstretched).

So, I just started rolling diapers and wrapping each with a small rubber band.  I used approximately 55 diapers…so just roll a whole bunch.  Then when you have a pile of rolled diapers, gather some into a large circle on the plate stand to create the bottom (biggest) tier.  Take a really large rubber band and wrap it around the whole bundle to hold all the individual rolls in place.

Repeat with the middle and top tiers, using fewer diaper rolls.  Once you have the large rubber band holding the whole tier, you can remove the small rubber bands from the individual rolls, for a smoother look.

Stack the 3 tiers, and skewer with the dowel rods to secure (be careful not to puncture any diapers).  This allows you to transport it without it falling apart.

Decorate with ribbon, small toys, bows, fake flowers, etc…  I just used tape and small paper clips to secure the ribbons that I layered around each tier.

The great thing about making a diaper cake for a baby shower is that it can be done weeks in advance, leaving the days immediately prior to the shower free to bake and prepare other food.

DSC01244

cake truffles

DSC01309

I used Bakerella’s famous method for making these, of course.  She is the queen of cute cake treats!  Click the link for her step by step instructions.

Here's the supplies ready to go...

Here's the supplies ready to go...

I did 2 batches, one chocolate cake and one yellow cake.  And I used various sprinkles on them.  These doubled as treats that we ate at the shower, as well as favors for the guests to take home.  I wrapped half in small favor bags from Hobby Lobby and left the other half on trays to be enjoyed.

DSC01269

cupcakes

DSC01280

We decided to make cupcakes instead of buying (or making) one or two large sheet cakes.  I did one batch of French Vanilla and one batch of Dark Chocolate. Then, I made regular and chocolate buttercream for both.  I used Wilton’s 1M tip to decorate.

DSC01281

individual cake

DSC01267

Even though we didn’t have large cakes to serve, I still wanted to have a small individual type of cake just for the expectant mother.  So, I made a 6″ round chocolate cake and decorated it with chocolate buttercream and used white fondant for the baby foot prints.   We ended up not cutting into this at the shower and the family actually froze it to enjoy once they brought their new baby home.

cream cheese mints

DSC01277

These are one of the things I always look forward to having at any shower or wedding that I attend, so I knew we had to have them!

This recipe is from Milk & Honey.  I left one batch white and tinted the other batch light blue using Wilton color gels.  One thing I did differently from the recipe was press the mixture into candy molds rather than forming them with my hands.

This is also something that can be made a few days or even a week in advance, they store wonderfully in the fridge for a few days or in the freezer for longer.

DSC01282

Here is part of the spread set up at the shower.  I used “It’s a boy” picks from Hobby Lobby in some of the cupcakes.

DSC01302

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 28, 2009 @ 20:41:05

    The diaper cake is adorable. I love baby showers but I’m awful at making things look nice. I’m usually just happy if it doesn’t look outright UGLY and tastes good!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Diaper Cake #2 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

