Pw’s Marlboro Man Sandwich

This recipe definitely caught my attention while reading The Pioneer Woman’s site!  She has mentioned it numerous times and it is her most requested recipe.

After finding out that we could get cubed steak in our portion of the 1/4 cow that we purchased, I knew immediately that I would make this recipe.  I cut down on the amount of butter used, but that was my only change.  Tim LOVED this sandwich!

DSC01346

Marlboro Man’s Favorite Sandwich
2 to 3 pounds cube steak
1 large onion
4 French/Deli rolls
1/4 cup Butter plus 2 Tbsp
Lawry’s Seasoned Salt
1/2 cup Worcestershire Sauce
Tabasco – to taste

-Slice onions and cook in cast iron skillet with 1/4 cup butter until soft and caramelized. Remove and set aside.
-Slice cube steak against the grain into 1/2″ wide slices. Season with Lawry’s.
-Add meat in single layer to pan that onions caramelized in (should still have plenty of butter in the pan). Cook one side until brown, then flip and cook until brown, about a minute on both sides.  I did this in 3 batches as to not overcrowd.
-Add all the meat back to the pan, and then add 1/2 cup Worcestershire sauce and 5 to 6 shakes Tabasco. Add cooked onions.  Stir to combine and reheat.
-With remaining 2 Tbsp butter, grease a griddle.   Open French rolls and brown both sides.
-To assemble, lay bottom half of French roll on plate. Place meat mixture, followed by a spoonfull of juice from the pan. Top with other half of roll.

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Menu 10-12-09 « EASY AS PIE!
  2. Angie D
    Nov 11, 2009 @ 19:52:54

    I know Matthew will love this. He has told me that he could eat grilled onions by themselves for dinner (yuck). Anywho…this is on my menu sometime this week. What do you recommend as a side? Also…where did you find the French Deli Rolls? I have never used my cast iron skilled – I hope this goes well.

    Reply

    • Beth
      Nov 11, 2009 @ 21:30:22

      Tim loves onions too…he says he could eat a raw onion like an apple. gross.
      I have served this with a pasta salad before and with oven baked fries or roasted sweet potatoes.
      I think I just got the rolls at Kroger or maybe Schnucks (sp?).
      But, I hope you like these! The worcestershire taste is pretty strong/salty so adjust according to your taste. 🙂

      Reply

  3. Angie D
    Nov 12, 2009 @ 03:19:38

    Thank you! Those sides sound good. I always think rice or potato…..boring! Talk soon.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Menu 7-17-10 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

