Foil-Pack Taco Chicken

I’ve had this recipe from an old issue of Kraft’s Food & Family magazine sitting in my “to make soon” pile for about a year!  I finally got around to it a few nights ago when I had several of the ingredients on hand and needing to be used.  Almost perfectly I had an open jar of salsa, 3 chicken breasts, and 2 small potatoes.  It was meant to be.

It is a very easy and tasty recipe that you can adjust to serve 2 or more.  I made several adaptations that are noted in italics.

DSC01331

Ingredients:
4 small boneless skinless chicken breast halves (one breast per person, I used 3 and Tim took the third to work the next day)
4 tsp.  taco seasoning mix
1/2 lb. red potatoes, thinly sliced (about 2 cups) (I used about 1 cup or two small potatoes)
1 medium onion, thinly sliced
salt and pepper
3/4 cup Mexican blend or cheddar shredded cheese
1/2 cup  salsa
1/4 cup  sour cream – optional
Directions

HEAT oven to 400°F.  Spray sheets of foil with non-stick spray.

SPRINKLE chicken with seasoning mix and set aside.  Place 1/2 cup potatoes on center of each sheet of heavy-duty foil; sprinkle potatoes with salt and pepper, top with onions, chicken, cheese and salsa.

BRING up foil sides. Double fold top and both ends to seal each packet, leaving room for heat circulation inside. Place on large baking sheet.

BAKE 30 to 35 min. or until chicken is done (165°F). Cool 5 min. Cut slits in foil to release steam before opening. Top with sour cream.

Enjoy!

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Aug 18, 2009 @ 20:16:14

    That looks like a nice easy dinner. I think it would also be easy to customize (like add bell peppers/mushrooms/zuchini or leave out the onions for the kids that don’t like onion…)

    Reply

  2. Jennifer
    Aug 20, 2009 @ 17:00:53

    Beth,
    I’m actually making this for dinner tonight. I’m so glad you posted it, as I was looking thru my cupboard and realized I had all the ingredients.
    I love it when I actually make a recipe that I’ve bookmarked!
    Jennifer

    Reply

  3. Melissa
    Oct 02, 2009 @ 12:41:03

    You know I loved this recipe! For something different I made the Italian version. How does the saying go- “if it isn’t broke, don’t fix it”… Italian version= not so good. I think the potatoes and sauce were a wierd combinaiton. =(

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Menu 1-24-10 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

