Key Lime Meltaways

I bought 2 limes to use in a salsa recipe and ended up not needing to add the juice after all.  So I began a search for an alternate use for limes and that lead me to Erin’s recent blog post.

Although I’m not usually a fan of slice and bake cookies, I was attracted to several aspects of the recipe, including the fact that I could make the dough one night and bake the cookies the next, I worship trust Martha Stewart’s recipes, and I’ve never made a lime dessert before.  So I gave it a shot!

They are great and certainly do melt in your mouth!  The only issue I had, was that I added the last batch of cookies to the bag of sugar while they were still too warm and they pretty much crumbled.  It was totally my fault though.  The first 2 batches had cooled for 10 minutes each and they came out fine.  I stupidly rushed the final batch.  So, learn from me and listen to Martha’s directions – cool for 10 minutes before shaking!

Just a few other notes:  I used regular limes, not Key limes.  I wouldn’t say that my butter ever got “fluffy.”  More like very smooth and creamy.

Lime Meltaways

Yield:  approx. 4 dozen

from Martha Stewart Cookies as seen at Erin’s Food Files

12 tablespoons (1 -1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, room temperature
1 cup confectioner’s {powdered} sugar
Grated zest of 2 limes
2 tablespoons freshly squeezed lime juice
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract
1 3/4 cups plus 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
2 tablespoons cornstarch
1/4 teaspoon salt

In the bowl of an electric mixer fitted with the whisk attachment, cream butter and 1/3 cup sugar until fluffy. Add lime zest, juice, and vanilla; beat until fluffy.

In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, cornstarch, and salt. Add to butter mixture, and beat on low speed until combined.

Between two 8-by-12-inch pieces of parchment paper, roll {form with hands} dough into two 1 1/4-inch-diameter logs. Chill at least 1 hour.  I chilled them for 24 hours.

Heat oven to 350 degrees. Line two baking sheets with parchment. Place remaining 2/3 cup sugar in a resealable plastic bag. Remove parchment from logs; slice dough into 1/8-inch-thick rounds. Place rounds on baking sheets, spaced 1 inch apart.

Bake cookies until barely golden, about 15 minutes. Transfer cookies to a wire rack to cool slightly, 8 to 10 minutes. While still slightly warm, place cookies in the sugar-filled bag; toss to coat. Store baked cookies in an airtight container for up to 2 weeks.

DSC01388

Leave a Reply

