Peach Cobbler

I had my doubts about this recipe, but it actually worked out just fine both times I made it!  I just didn’t see how it was possible for the batter to rise over the peaches.  I also think it is key not to over mix the batter.

The first attempt was for a family picnic, and it looked a little flat in the dish {I used a 9×13}.  It definitely was not a deep dish type of cobbler.  Tim said it was fantastic though and he practically licked the dish clean.

The next time I made it, I used a smaller dish {9×9} and it was terrific. I also forget about the Cinnamon the second time I made it, but we didn’t miss it.

Peach Cobbler

{recipe adapted from Dinner & Dessert and Vintage Victuals}

Serves 4-6

Ingredients

4-5 cups fresh peaches, peeled and sliced {about 4 large peaches}
1/2 cup sugar
3/4 cup butter
1 cup flour
3/4 cup sugar
2 teaspoons baking powder
A dash of salt
3/4 cup milk – I used vanilla soy milk
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon – optional

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Combine the sliced peaches and the 1/2 cup sugar in a medium bowl. Cover and let set until the juices start to run.  I left mine for about 20 mins.

Place the butter in a 9×13″ baking dish. Put it in the oven for 3-4 minutes, until the butter is completely melted.

Meanwhile, stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt in a mixing bowl. Add the milk and stir just until combined. Do not over mix, lumps are okay.

Remove the dish with the butter from the oven.  Immediately pour the prepared batter over the butter. Do not stir!

Next, pour the peaches over the batter and butter. Do not stir!

Finally, sprinkle the cinnamon evenly over the top. Return the dish to the oven and bake for 45-50 minutes, until the batter sets and turns a golden brown on top.

Enjoy!

DSC01376

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Erin
    Aug 30, 2009 @ 18:22:46

    Glad you liked it! I know it’s hard to trust that the batter will rise, but as you can see, it does! Looks delish!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

