Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread

I recently stumbled across a local used bookstore where I happily purchased my first cookbook by Ina Garten called Barefoot Contessa at Home.  I have wanted one of her cookbooks for a long time.  So, I immediately read it cover to cover, making a list of several recipes that I couldn’t wait to try.  This one was found at the top of the list due to the jalapenos that we have coming out our ears from the garden.

It is really delicious!  Of course I knew Ina wouldn’t disappoint me though.  So far we’ve eaten it with soup and meatloaf and it has been fabulous left over.  And, even with 6 jalapenos – it isn’t hot.  Actually, I mentioned to Tim that I wished I had put in a few more peppers.  But, Tim said he liked it as it was…that the peppers impart enough flavor so that you know they are there, but they don’t overpower.  He said he wouldn’t want any more peppers in it because you wouldn’t be able to taste the cheese.  So, I guess he is right!

 He also asked how it tastes like the piece is already spread with butter?  I didn’t tell him that its because there are 2 sticks of butter in it!  Shhhh – its our secret. 🙂

I usually fail to prep ingredients in advance, so learn from me here – have the ingredients for this recipe ready.  You will need to chop the peppers {wear gloves!} and onions, grate the cheese, melt the butter, and grease the dish.  The batter needs to sit for 20 minutes once mixed and it needs to bake for 30 minutes, so have everything ready so that is goes as quickly as possible.

DSC01393

Jalapeno Cheddar Cornbread {serves 12}

ingredients

3 cups AP flour

1 cup yellow cornmeal

1/4 cup sugar

2 T. baking powder

2 tsp salt {I used 1 tsp}

2 cups milk {I used skim}

3 extra large eggs, lightly beaten {I used 4 large eggs}

2 sticks of unsalted butter, melted.  Plus more for greasing the pan.

8 oz. sharp cheddar cheese, grated and divided

1/3 cup chopped scallions, white and green parts {I didn’t have any scallions, so I subbed red onion}

3 T. seeded and minced fresh jalapeno peppers {I doubled this and used 6 peppers}

Directions

Combine the flour, cornmeal, sugar, salt, and baking powder in a large bowl with a whisk.  In a separate large bowl, combine the milk, eggs, and melted butter.  With a wooden spoon, stir the wet ingredients into the dry until most of the lumps are gone.  But don’t over mix.  Mix in 2 cups of the grated Cheddar, the onion, and the jalapenos.  Allow the batter to sit at room temp. for 20 minutes.

Preheat oven to 350* and grease {grease it well!} a 9x13x2-inch baking pan.

Pour the batter into the pan, smooth the top with a spatula, and sprinkle with remaining grated cheddar and onions.

Bake for 30-35 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Serve warm.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. EmergePeoria
    Aug 31, 2009 @ 17:38:06

    Will be trying this ASAP!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Menu 11-8-09 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

