Jambalaya

We were in the mood for something spicy last night, so I turned to the Food Network site in search of a jambalaya recipe.  No surprise that I found one by Emeril Lagasse.  While I don’t like to watch his shows because I find his personality annoying, I do trust and always have success with his recipes.

I used Emeril’s recipe mostly as a guide, making several changes based on our taste and what I had on hand.  My adaptations are in italics.

DSC01421

Cajun Jambalaya {serves 4}

Ingredients

  • 12 medium raw shrimp, peeled, deveined and chopped
  • 4 ounces chicken, diced {I used one 9 oz. can of cooked chicken breasts}
  • 1 tablespoon Creole seasoning
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1/4 cup chopped onion {I used 1/2 cup}
  • 1/4 cup chopped green bell pepper {I used a combo of green bell and jalapeno peppers to equal 1/2 cup}
  • 1/4 cup chopped celery {I used 1/2 cup}
  • 2 tablespoons chopped garlic { 3 cloves}
  • 1/2 cup chopped tomatoes {one fresh garden tomato}
  • 3 dried bay leaves {two small leaves}
  • 1 teaspoon Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon hot sauce
  • 3/4 cup long grain white rice
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 5 ounces Andouille sausage, sliced {I substituted cooked chorizo}
  • Salt and pepper {I omitted}

Directions

In a bowl combine shrimp and Creole seasoning, and work in seasoning well.  Set aside.

In a large/deep saucepan heat oil over high heat with onion, pepper and celery, saute 3 minutes.  Add garlic, tomatoes, bay leaves, Worcestershire and hot sauces.  Stir in rice and slowly add broth.  Reduce heat to medium and cook until rice absorbs liquid and becomes tender, stirring occasionally, about 15 minutes. When rice is just tender add shrimp and chicken mixture and sausage. Cook until shrimp are done, about 10 minutes more.  Taste and adjust seasonings if necessary.  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

