Potato Leek Soup

So, this recipe was my first experience with leeks and I’m really happy I went for it!  Ever since reading the book and seeing the movie Julie & Julia a few months ago, I have wanted to make a potato leek soup.  I can’t remember if it is at the beginning of the book or movie, or both – that Julie makes a simple potato & leek soup and her husband thought it was the most delicious thing ever.   Anyway, my memory of that scene is foggy.  But the soup has been on my mind since then!

It was really easy to prepare too.  I had fears that the leeks would be difficult to clean, but they weren’t at all – just a quick rinse did the trick.  Now, there is a lot of chopping involved, but I don’t mind chopping at all.  I’m pretty quick with a knife and I find chopping to be a stress reliever. 🙂  I’ll definitely be looking for more recipes that call for leeks now that I’m comfortable with them.

Overall, we thought this soup was fantastic.  However, Tim did ask if that’s all we were having for dinner.  😦  So, next time I’ll definitely pair it with a side dish, maybe even just crusty bread would have been good.  Also, he is not a huge fan of meatless meals, so I may add some chopped ham next time.  Or, I’ll just use the recipe as it is for a starter course.

soup is hard to photograph!

soup is hard to photograph!

Potato Leek Soup {loosely adapted from A Year of Slow Cooking I didn’t slow cook it.} yields 4 small servings

Ingredients:

1 or 2 tablespoons butter or olive oil

2 large leeks {white parts only}, rinsed and thinly sliced

1 medium onion, chopped

2 or 3 cloves of garlic, minced

5 medium potatoes, peeled and chopped into 1″ pieces

4 cups low sodium chicken broth {veggie broth would work too}

dash of dried ground thyme

salt and pepper

1/2 cup milk – optional

Directions:

Wash and chop all veggies.  Discard the dark green parts of the leeks.  the light green parts are fine.

Then, heat a stock pot with the oil or butter and add the leeks, onions and garlic.  Saute for a few minutes or until tender.  Add the ground thyme, salt and pepper.

Then dump in the potatoes and pour in the broth.  Bring to a boil, cover, and cook until potatoes are tender.

Turn off the heat and blend with an immersion blender to make creamy {or use a blender or food processor}.  If the soup is too thick for your liking, add 1/2 to 1 cup of milk or cream. {I added 1/2 cup skim milk.  Additional broth would work too}.  Taste and adjust seasoning if necessary.

Serve with a dollop of sour cream, and chopped chives or parsley {which I didn’t have}.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Sausage and Lentil Stew « EASY AS PIE!
  2. Trackback: Creamy Potato Soup « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

