Cinnamon Pastry Swirls

I was hinting around in the previous post that I have a special use for leftover pie dough after trimming it away from the edges.   Well, here it is and it couldn’t be any easier!

I learned to do this from my Mom, who learned it from my Grandma, and I found out that my husband’s Grandmother did this too!  Now, I am carrying on the tradition!

In my family, these little treats have always been called “pie kisses” for some reason, but I decided to fancy up the name for my blog since it is so sophisticated around here.

Yeah right!  Moving on…

DSC01492

Cinnamon Pastry Swirls


scraps of pie dough, formed into a ball

butter

cinnamon

sugar

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

Try to roll the dough out into a rectangle {You’ll see that I failed at this.} on a floured work surface.  You want it to be pretty thin, maybe 1/8″.

DSC01484

Spread the dough with a thin layer of butter.

Sprinkle on a mixture of cinnamon and sugar.

DSC01485

Roll into a log.  Trim off and discard the ends.  Slice the dough into 1/2″ pieces and lay them flat on the baking sheet.

DSC01486

Bake for 5-8 minutes or until lightly golden brown.

DSC01488

Enjoy!!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Angie D
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 19:52:15

    AAaaaahhh! Jennell asked me about these things like 6 mos. ago. Our mom also made them when we lived at home and she couldn’t remember what they were called. Funny!

    Reply

  2. Melissa
    Oct 10, 2009 @ 20:53:51

    My mom used to make these all the time too! We call them “kiss me quicks” though. Yum…

    Reply

    • Beth
      Oct 11, 2009 @ 13:55:38

      That’s funny they both have “kiss” in their name! I can’t figure out why though…it makes me think of Hershey kisses but they are nothing alike. Maybe its because they are bite size? We’ll have to ask our mom’s I guess…

      Reply

Leave a Reply

