Whiskey Glazed Carrots

I wanted to test out this recipe for whiskey glazed carrots as a potential side dish for this year’s Thanksgiving meal.  I will most likely host Thanksgiving for my side of the family again (6 people total), so I’m already starting to plan.  🙂

I thought the carrots tasted great, but I accidentally used too much liquid and it never quite thickened up as much as I wanted. I misread the recipe and used 3/4 cup whiskey.  Oops!

Overall they were really tasty and I think that I will in fact serve them for Thanksgiving.  However, these were not good leftover.  Blech!

DSC01528

Pioneer Woman’s Whiskey-Glazed Carrots

serves 6

2 – 3 pounds carrots, peeled and cut into thick circles
1 stick butter {I used about 6 tablespoons}
1/2 cup Jack Daniels whiskey
3/4 to 1 cup brown sugar {I used dark brown sugar}
1/2 to 1 teaspoon salt
Freshly ground pepper

Melt 1 tablespoons butter in a large skillet over high heat. Add carrots in two batches, cooking for 60 to 90 seconds each batch.  Remove from skillet.
Pour in whiskey and allow to evaporate 30 seconds.
Reduce heat to medium, and add remaining butter.
When butter melts, sprinkle brown sugar over the top.
Stir together, then add carrots to skillet.
Cover, and continue cooking for 5 minutes.
Remove lid and add salt and pepper. Continue cooking until carrots are done and glaze is thick, about 5 more minutes.
Pour onto a platter and serve immediately.  Sprinkle with chopped chives if desired.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thanksgiving Prep 2009 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

