Dutch Apple Pie

I worked at a small restaurant for about 6 years, mostly on and off while I was in college.  I was primarily a waitress, but also was a hostess and a manager and I even filled in in the kitchen from time to time.

Anyway, it was a great experience for me overall.  Even though I was young (I think I started working there at age 16 or 17), I obviously learned a lot about dealing with people.  Sure, I complained about the long shifts, hot kitchen, tired/sore legs and feet, and shitty pay on slow nights – but more importantly I learned valuable life lessons that will stay with me forever.  I truly learned the value of a dollar and about working HARD.  Restaurant work is very exhausting and difficult and I think everyone (especially young people) should work in food service for a time.

I could go on an on about working there, but I won’t bore you with it.  What I want to get at it is that that small restaurant was (and still is) famous for its homemade pies.  They offer over 20 different kinds every single day.   One of my favorites and one of their most popular was Dutch apple pie.  This recipe is as close to identical as I have been able to get.  It is fab!

DSC01534

Dutch Apple Pie

Fits a standard pie dish, not a deep dish.

Ingredients

dough for one pie crust

For the filling:

6 cups apples; peeled, slice and cored – that’s about 7 medium apples {Cortland or Jonathon apples are my favorite.}

3/4 cup sugar

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 tsp fresh ground nutmeg

1/2 tsp salt

3 Tbsp flour

1/4 cup lemon juice

Dutch apple topping:

{measurements are approximate}

3/4 cup flour

3/4 cup oatmeal

1/2 cup sugar

1/2 cup packed brown sugar

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp cinnamon

1 stick cold butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 375 degrees.

Lightly flour a clean baking mat on a work surface.  Roll out dough and place in a pie dish.  Flute the edges as desired.  Set aside.

Place the sliced apples in a large bowl and toss them with the lemon juice to coat.  Then add the sugar, flour, salt, and nutmeg.  Stir to mix thoroughly.  Pour evenly into the crust and lightly smooth them down.

In another large bowl, combine all of the topping ingredients.  Cut with a fork, pastry cutter, or 2 knives for several minutes or until the butter is incorporated and crumbly.  Carefully pour the topping mixture evenly over the filling and lightly press it to compact.  It may be dome shaped, but it will sink during baking.  Don’t worry if you have a little extra topping left over.  I have found that it is better to have extra than not enough to thoroughly cover the top of the pie.

Place the pie dish on a baking sheet and bake for 30 minutes.  {The baking sheet is very important – unless you like to clean your oven.  I almost always have filling run over and the sheet catches it.} Leave the pie in the oven and reduce heat to 350 degrees and continue baking for another 30-35 minutes.  The filling will bubble and crust will be lightly browned when done.  Check pie midway thru baking and cover edges with foil if necessary.

Allow to thoroughly cool before slicing.

DSC01539

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Cinnamon Ice Cream « EASY AS PIE!
  2. Trackback: Thanksgiving 2010 Recap « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

