Dinner Rolls

Victory!  I had success baking with yeast!

In the past, I have mentioned a few times that I usually avoid yeast breads.  I’m all about the quick breads but with yeast breads, I’m always afraid that the yeast is going to be dead and they won’t rise, etc.  Well, no more.

I gave this recipe a chance and I’m totally sold.  I still may not bake yeast bread frequently, but when I do I won’t be afraid!

I should have cut this recipe in half, but I think I was concentrating too much on making them correctly that I didn’t think about the quantity.  {The full recipe is below as well.}  I also should have given them more than 15 minutes for each rise time to yield an even fluffier roll.  But I was, of course, short on time.

Is there anything better smelling than fresh bread?  In my opinion, No!   I think I’ll add these to my Thanksgiving dinner menu.

DSC01538

60 Minute Yeast Rolls

Source: Frantic Home Cook

  • 4-5 cups flour
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 (1/4 ounce) packages yeast (5 teaspoons)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup warm water
  • 1/4 cup butter or margarine

In a warmed cup or bowl, dissolve yeast in the warm water.   Meanwhile, in a small saucepan, stir milk, sugar, salt and butter together. Heat over low heat until butter melts and sugar dissolves. Cool until lukewarm.  Add the water and yeast mixture to the milk mixture.

Pour into your mixer bowl and add 4-1/2 cups of flour.  Using your dough hook, mix on low speed for about 1 minute. With the mixer still going, add remaining flour, a little at a time and mix about 2 minutes or until dough starts to clean the sides of the bowl.  Keep mixing (you’re kneading now) on low speed for about 2 more minutes, or until dough is smooth and elastic – the dough will still be slightly sticky to the touch.

Place dough in a greased bowl, turning it to grease the top. Cover the dough with a clean, dry dish towel, and let it rise in a warm place, free from draft, for about 15 minutes. {I place the bowl on my counter with a heating pad underneath.}

Turn the dough onto a lightly floured surface, and divide into 24 equal pieces.  Form each piece into a ball, and place in two greased muffin pans.  {If you’d rather,  you can simply shape the dough into 24 balls and set them side by side in a greased 9 by 13 baking dish.}  Cover the muffin pans with the dish towel, and let the dough rise one last time for about 15 minutes. {Again, I place the muffin pan on a heating pad.}

Bake at 425ºF for 12 minutes, or until the rolls are golden brown. Remove from pans immediately, brush with melted butter and cool on wire racks.

I brushed them with honey butter and served them with additional honey butter on the side.  Heaven!

Honey Butter

1 stick of butter, softened

3 tablespoons honey

Place both ingredients in stand mixer bowl and beat until combined, smooth and fluffy.

Leave a Reply

