Banana Muffins

Just the other day, one of the friends that I have had since childhood reminded me of how often my Mom made banana bread when we were in school together.  I loved it so much as a kid.  My friend could not believe I didn’t have it on the blog yet.  My reason for that is when I bake it in a regular loaf pan, the middle never cooks through and sinks down.  {Any ideas why?}  That never happened with my Mom’s bread…

Anyway, I have been thinking about banana bread since that conversation.  So today, I baked some – dividing the batter into 6 jumbo muffin tins and one mini loaf.

DSC01548

Banana Bread or Muffins

{Source:  my Mom}

Ingredients

1/2 cup butter, softened

1 cup of sugar

2 eggs

1 tsp vanilla extract

3 medium very ripe bananas, mashed {approx 1 cup}

1/2 tsp ground nutmeg – optional, cinnamon can be substituted

1 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

2 cups all-purpose flour

1/4 cup chopped nuts – optional {I omitted them today}

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Spray baking pans with nonstick spray or line muffin cups with paper.

In a medium bowl, whisk the flour, salt, nutmeg, and baking soda together. Set aside.

Cream butter and sugar together in bowl of stand mixer.  Add the eggs one at a time, then add the vanilla, then the mashed bananas.  Scrape down the sides of the bowl occasionally.

Slowly add the flour mixture to the wet mixture.  Scrape the sides of bowl.  Stir in the nuts by hand.  Spoon or pour batter into baking pans.

Bake for about 20-25 minutes if using muffin pans.  Bake for about 40 minutes if using loaf pans.  Check frequently to prevent over browning, cover with foil if top browns too much before center is done.  They are done when toothpick inserted near the center comes out clean.

Cool on wire racks.

Enjoy!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Nov 19, 2009 @ 03:01:29

    Thanks for this post!! Like we talked about I think it has something to do with dividing it between two pans. For whatever reason when I do a recipe that calls for just one pan I don’t have the gooey center?? I’m anxious to see if anyone else has any ideas!

    I can still recall the smell of your mom’s kitchen and all the yummy home baked breads…Good times! =)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

