Pumpkin Waffles

I think I have mentioned before that Tim loves pumpkin!  When I stumbled upon this recipe for pumpkin waffles, I knew I had to give them a try.  They were perfect for a chilly November morning.  In fact, we loved them so much that after we finished eating, I prepared another batch to freeze.

Not to go all Sandra Lee on you, but I wanted to address the “semi-homemade” tag that I use.  If a recipe calls for a baking mix, pre-made dough, or other prepared ingredient, etc… I tag it semi-homemade.  Examples of these items include:  Bisquick {used in this recipe}, cake and brownie mixes, canned biscuits and crescent rolls, canned/jarred sauces, etc.  I do try to make as many recipes from scratch as possible, but I think using the occasional short cut is totally fine.  Making it semi-homemade is still better than totally store-bought or restaurant take-out in my opinion.

Pumpkin Waffles

{source: Erin’s Eats}

Yield: 4 servings

Ingredients:

  • 2-1/3 cups Bisquick Pancake & Waffle Mix
  • 1/2 cup Libby’s 100% pure pumpkin
  • 1-1/2 cup skim milk
  • 1/4 cup vegetable oil
  • 2 tablespoons packed brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon cloves
  • 1/8 teaspoon ginger

 

 Directions:

 Heat waffle iron and coat with non-stick spray if needed.

Combine all ingredients in a large bowl.  Stir/whisk ingredients until well blended.  Pour 1/3 cup of batter onto center of hot waffle iron. Close lid of waffle iron.

Cook about 4-6 minutes or until steaming stops {or whatever your iron recommends}.  Carefully remove waffles.  Repeat with additional batter.

Serve with butter and syrup.

Leave a Reply

