Easy Fudge

It is almost time for some major holiday cookie baking and candy making.  Of course, I am already starting to plan all of the goodies that I want to make.  And as I was thinking about my list, I could not get my mind off of fudge.  It has always been my favorite treat, so I went ahead and made a batch.  I know I jumped the gun, but if it is wrong then I don’t want to be right!

Fudge

{source: Eagle Brand}

Prep time:  10 minutes, chill 2 hours.  Makes about 2 pounds of fudge.

Ingredients

3 cups {18 oz} semi-sweet chocolate chips

1 {14 oz} can Eagle Brand sweetened condensed milk {NOT evaporated milk}

dash of salt {1/8 teaspoon}

1/2 – 1 cup chopped nuts

1-1/2 teaspoons vanilla extract

Directions

1.  Prepare a 8″ or 9″ square pan by spraying with cooking spray, or line with parchment, or grease with butter. 

2. In a heavy saucepan, melt the chocolate chips, salt, and sweetened condensed milk together over low heat.

3. Once melted, remove from heat and stir in nuts and vanilla.  Spread evenly into 8″ or 9″ square pan.

4. Go to town licking the spatula.  What? You know you want to!

5. Chill for 2 hours or until firm.  Cut into small squares.  Store leftovers covered in fridge.

Variation – Marshmallow Fudge

Add 2 tablespoons of butter as you melt the chocolate with the sweetened condensed milk and salt.

Replace nuts with 2 cups of colored mini marshmallows.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Christmas Candy & Cookie Plan « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

