Hot Cider Punch

It is tradition for my family to have this delicious warm beverage at Thanksgiving, Christmas, and any other late fall and winter get togethers.  My mom has been making it for as long as I can remember!

I really like to use the crock pot for this, you can fix it and forget it!

Hot Cider Punch

1 gal. apple cider

1 can of frozen orange juice concentrate

1 cup lemon juice

1 cup sugar

24 whole cloves

4 cinnamon sticks

orange slices for garnish

Directions

In a very large soup/stock pot, combine first 6 ingredients and heat thoroughly, stir often.  Once sugar is dissolved and mixture is hot, turn heat to simmer or low and cover until ready to serve {I transfer to a crock pot at this point.}.  Punch will be cloudy.

Ladle into mugs and garnish with orange slices.

Variation – add Brandy  {We never do though}

Note – The last time I made this, I had a small issue with it being cloudy and a foam collecting at the surface.  I just skimmed it off before serving.  I think it had something to do with how filtered the cider was.  But the taste was not altered.

Unless you have a really big crock pot, you may need to add the mixture to the crock pot in batches.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Thanksgiving 2010 Recap « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

