Apple Butter Bars

I received several new cookbooks for Christmas this year and two of them are Amish Friends cookbooks by Wanda Brunstetter.  This recipe comes from Volume 2.

The recipe is very similar to the apricot bars that I blogged about a few weeks ago.  They are a great treat for dessert or breakfast.

Apple Butter Bars

Ingredients

1.5 cups flour

1 tsp baking soda

1 tsp salt

2.5 cups oats

1.5 cups sugar

1 cup (2 sticks) margarine {I used butter}

1.5 cups apple butter

Directions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Sift together the flour, soda, and salt in a large bowl.  Add the oats and sugar.  Stir in the butter and mix well.  Press half of the mixture into the bottom of a greased 9×13-inch pan.  Top with apple butter.  Sprinkle with remaining crumbs.

Bake 45-55 minutes or until lightly brown.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Jan 08, 2010 @ 20:21:03

    I am running out for some apple butter as soon as Wyatt gets home and making these!! He loves apple butter and I’m always looking for and alternative breakfast for him.

    Your blog is the BEST!

    Reply

  2. Angie D
    Jan 20, 2010 @ 19:25:08

    I just checked the date on my apple butter…expires this month. HA! What better way to use it up, thanks for the idea. I think I used it ages ago on a pork loin.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

