Sherried Tomato Soup

I’ve made another recipe for homemade tomato soup before, but thought I would give this recipe from the Pioneer Woman a try since she never lets me down.  It was a delicious soup and I definitely liked the flavor that the sherry brought to the table.  But overall I think I like my other recipe better, although I might try incorporating some sherry into it.

Sherried Tomato Soup

{Source:  adapted from The Pioneer Woman}

Recipe makes a ton!  I’ll be taking this to eat at work for awhile!

Ingredients
  • 1/2 stick of butter
  • 1 whole medium onion, diced
  • 1 bottle or can (46 Oz.) tomato juice
  • 2 cans (14 Oz. Cans) diced tomatoes
  • 1 Tablespoon (up To 3 Tablespoons) chicken base {I used one chicken flavored bouillon cube b/c I’m not sure what chicken base is and I don’t have any.  I feel that it could probably be left out.}
  • 3 Tablespoons (up To 6 Tablespoons) sugar
  • 1 pinch(es) Salt {I omitted b/c the bouillon is usually salty}
  • freshly cracked black pepper to taste
  • 1 cup cooking Sherry
  • 1-½ cup heavy cream {I used milk, but cream would have been better}
  • chopped fresh parsley {about 1/4 cup loosely packed}
  • chopped fresh basil {I used about 1 tablespoon dried basil}
Preparation Instructions

In a large soup pot or dutch oven, sauté diced onions in butter until translucent. Then add canned tomatoes, tomato juice, chicken base {bouillon}, sugar, pinch of salt, black pepper and stir. Bring to a near boil.

At this point I thought the soup seemed a little too chunky for how I like tomato soup so I put a little over half of the soup in my food processor to puree a bit, leaving some chunks in the pot.  Then return it to the pot.

Add in sherry and cream and stir.  Heat through.  Add in parsley and basil to taste.

Adjust other seasonings and serve with yummy, crusty bread on a blustery cold, snowy day.

I served it with a grilled cheese sandwhich. 🙂

Leave a Reply

