Chicken and Noodles

One cooking shortcut that I sometimes take is buying rotisserie chickens from the grocery store.  I do this when I plan to make a recipe on a weeknight that calls for cooked chicken.  Since I get home from work between 6-6:30, I don’t want to spend 20+ minutes cooking chicken just to use it in a recipe that is going to take 30 additional minutes or more to get to the end result.  I generally like to serve dinner and have the kitchen cleaned up before 8.  So, I will either buy the rotisserie chicken the day before I need it or sometimes the same day and then shred the meat off and use it in whatever recipe it is called for.

Some things that I’ve used the chicken for include:  on pizzas, in enchiladas, in casseroles, and for buffalo chicken dip {recipe in this post} just to name a few.

What I’m getting at here is that I used a rotisserie chicken in this chicken and noodle recipe and I’m so glad I did because it made quick work of the process and was still delicious.

Chicken and Noodles

Ingredients

1 small rotisserie chicken, shredded

1 bag of frozen egg noodles

1 tablespoon oil

1 tablespoon butter

2 tablespoons flour

1 large onion, coarsely chopped

2 celery stalks, sliced

3-4 medium carrots, sliced

one 32 oz carton of low sodium chicken broth/stock

black pepper

parsley flakes

ground thyme

1 (or 2) chicken bouillon cube(s)

Directions

In a large dutch oven, heat the oil and butter.  Then add the chopped onion, carrot, and celery and cook until soft.  Then sprinkle in the flour and cook another minute or until the flour gets slightly brown.  Then add the carton of chicken broth and stir to scrap up brown bits on the bottom of pan.  Next, add the pepper, thyme, parsley and shredded chicken and heat thoroughly.

Meanwhile, boil a large pot of water with one or two bouillon cubes and cook the egg noodles for about 10-15 minutes.  Then, drain but reserve the water.  Add the noodles to the chicken mixture.  Then add some of the liquid until you reach your desired soupiness (?).  I think I added about 2 ladles/cups of liquid.  Serve immediately.

I added an additional cup or so of the liquid when I put away the leftovers knowing that the noodles may soak up some more overnight.

Leave a Reply

