Hand Painted Pottery

A few weeks ago a friend {hi Melissa!} and I went to a pottery shop where you paint your own piece of pottery.  Then they fire it for you and you pick it up about a week later.  It was so much fun! I would definitely suggest this outing for any group of friends looking to do something different or even for a party.  This particular shop has a large party room in the back.  Just allow plenty of time to paint your piece {at least two hours} and have fun!!  You may also need to call ahead to reserve a table, but I don’t think it is required.

They had many different pieces to choose from including:  plates, mugs, platters, spoon rests, and seasonal decorations.  Here’s what I painted:

I taped off the outside in random sized stripes and used brick red, purple, sage green, and speckled off-white paints.  The white stripe is just the bare pottery.  Inside the piece, I used brick red on the sides, and sage green on the bottom with a purple stamp.  The edges aren’t as crisp as I would normally prefer, but it does give it a “hand-made” charm and I’m very happy with it overall.  I think it is pretty and useful!  By the way, all of the pieces are food safe after being fired.

I haven’t had a chance to use it as a serving piece yet, but hope to use it often in the near future.  I definitely think I’ll use it with my Pampered Chef serving pieces that sort of match.  One is shown below:

{Source}

Rather than going by memory as I tried to do, I would suggest that you bring something you own with you if you want to try to match it.  As you can see above, I had a few of the colors correct, but totally forgot about the mustard and orange colors.  I did remember that it had skinny stripes and went with the wider and more random stripes on purpose.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Melissa
    Feb 06, 2010 @ 05:11:22

    It looks GREAT! I love it! We must do it again. =)

    Reply

  2. Debbie Duckworth
    Feb 18, 2010 @ 02:13:34

    Hi Beth!!!

    I was looking through your website, and when I saw the pottery, I had to drop you a note. A friend of mine and I went to Fired Up, a couple weeks ago, and again last Thursday night. We had a blast. I made a beautiful “splash” vase the first time. My second project was a chip and dip, and I get to pick it up tomorrow.

    I agree, it is a really fun place.

    Hope all is well with you and Tim.

    Aunt Debbie

    Reply

    • Beth
      Feb 18, 2010 @ 16:20:24

      Thanks for the comment! Your pottery pieces sound neat! I can’t wait to go back there to paint more. 🙂
      Hope all is well with you too,
      Beth

      Reply

Leave a Reply

