Pork Chops with Beer and Bacon Gravy

I’m almost too embarrassed to post this because of how unhealthy it is, but what the hell.   I thought it was tasty, but Tim did not like it so I won’t be making it again.  I served it over couscous, but on the show Ray-Ray served it with boiled baby red-skinned potatoes that she dressed up with paprika.  I also cut the recipe in half.

Pork Chops with Beer and Bacon Gravy

Ingredients

{Source:  Rachel Ray @ foodnetwork.com}

This is the full recipe:

  • 4 bone-in pork chops, just over 1-inch thick
  • Salt and freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 tablespoon extra-virgin olive oil, plus a drizzle
  • 2 thick slices smoky bacon, diced 1/4-inch {even though I cut the recipe in half, I still used 2 slices of bacon}
  • 1 medium onion, diced 1/4-inch
  • 1 rounded tablespoon all-purpose flour
  • 1 bottle amber to dark German beer
  • 1/2 cup stock
  • Chopped parsley, for garnish {I omitted because I put parsley in the couscous}

Directions

Season the chops liberally with salt and pepper. Heat the extra-virgin olive oil in a skillet over medium-high heat. When the oil is hot, add the chops and cook, turning once, until caramelized and the meat is just turning firm, about 10 to 12 minutes. Remove to a platter and cover with foil, reserve.

Add a drizzle more oil to the pan, add bacon and brown for 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the onions and saute over medium heat with the bacon until soft, 6 to 7 minutes. Sprinkle in flour, stir for 1 minute, then add the beer. Cook until reduced by half, 1 to 2 minutes more, then whisk in the stock. Remove from the heat and season with pepper. Pour the gravy over the chops, sprinkle with parsley and serve immediately.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Ruben Walborn
    Mar 07, 2010 @ 21:38:58

    You know, I have to tell you, I really enjoy this blog and the great insight. I find it to be refreshing and quite educational. I wish there were more blogs like it. Anyway, I finally decided to write a comment on Pork Chops with Beer and Bacon Gravy EASY AS PIE! – I just wanna tell you that you did a nice job on this. Cheers mate!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

