Pineapple Chicken

I think that most home cooks are constantly hunting for new ways to prepare chicken dishes.  I like to serve chicken at least twice a week and really try to prepare it a variety of ways to keep it from being boring.  Thankfully chicken is a really versatile meat.  I adapted this particular recipe from a Vera Bradley cookbook that was given to me by a former coworker.

I thought it was pretty tasty overall.  The pineapple flavor really wasn’t too strong, as I feared it would be.   I do think it was missing a little something, but I can’t put my finger on it.  Although I did omit the teaspoon of rosemary and the slices of lemon that were supposed to be added with the pineapple.  I don’t think that they were what I was missing.  So,  I’ll definitely make this again and will try to come up with what was missing. I will also either use less chicken or make more sauce next time.

Tim hasn’t tried it yet, so I can’t give his response…but I can probably guess that he won’t really like it.  He’ll eat it, but it probably won’t be his favorite.  Now that I have thought about it, I remember that he is not crazy about fruit and meat together.  Oh well!

One other thing I may do in the future is turn this into a grilled meal.  I’d like to try using a variation of the sauce as a marinade, then grill the chicken and pineapple.  I would probably make extra sauce as well to serve on the side in that case.  Tim would probably like it better grilled too.

Pineapple Chicken

3 or 4 chicken breasts, cut in half

one 20 oz can of sliced pineapple, drained and juices reserved

2 cloves of garlic, chopped

2 tsp of Dijon mustard

2 tsp of Worcestershire sauce

2 heaping tsp of corn starch

salt and pepper

{Again, the original recipe called for one tsp of rosemary and the slices of one lemon, but I omitted both.}

Directions:

Heat oven to 400 degrees.

Season the chicken breast halves with salt and pepper on both sides.  Place in a hot skillet to brown on both sides for a couple of minutes. Then transfer to a large baking dish that has been sprayed with Pam.

Drain the pineapple and reserve the juice.   Set aside the pineapple slices.  Mix the juice with the mustard, Worcestershire sauce, garlic, rosemary, and corn starch.  Pour it over the chicken.  Bake for 20-30 minutes or just until chicken is done.  Remove from oven and add the slices of pineapple {and lemon if using} in among the chicken, basting everything with the sauce.  Return to the oven for another 5-10 minutes.

Serve over rice.

Leave a Reply

