Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

I grew up eating rhubarb in many types of desserts and sauces.  And of course it was a favorite on the pie menu at the restaurant I worked at for numerous years.  So, I’m very familiar with it and have always loved eating it, but have been a little afraid to cook or bake with it myself.  I really don’t know why, I guess I thought it would be difficult to clean or something.  But really it is similar to celery, you just rinse it off and slice it.  So once I conquered that fear, I made my first strawberry rhubarb pie!

The only problem I had was major run over as it was baking.  Next time I’ll take a few precautions to be sure I don’t have those problems again.  I’ll put a baking sheet under it to catch drips, not overfill it, and use a traditional top crust instead of the decorative one which may have allowed the juices to easily run over.

Tim loved it of course and he’s already asking me to make another one soon!  The man has loved every pie he’s ever met! 🙂

Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

{Source:  adapted from Betty Crocker’s Bridal Edition Cookbook}

pastry dough for double crust pie

2 to 2-1/3 cups sugar*

2/3 cups AP flour

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp grated orange zest – optional

3 cups rhubarb chopped into 1/2″ pieces

3 cups sliced strawberries

1 tablespoon butter

Make the pastry (or have it made ahead and placed in the fridge or freezer}.  Roll it out and place the bottom layer in the pie pan.  Set aside.

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Mix sugar, flour, salt, and zest in a large bowl.  Stir in the rhubarb and strawberries.  Pour into the pastry lined pan.

Cut the tablespoon of butter into small pieces and dot over the filling.  Cover with top layer of pastry dough.  Make cuts for venting.  Seal and flute the edges.  Cover edges with foil to prevent over browning. Place on a large baking sheet {to catch run over}.

Bake about 55 minutes or until crust is golden and filling bubbles.  Remove the foil about 10-15 minutes before the end of the baking time.

Cool at least 2 hours.

*If you are using rhubarb that was picked early in the season, the lower amount of sugar will probably be enough.  More mature rhubarb is more tart and needs more sugar added.

Leave a Reply

