Shoofly Cupcakes

Whiskey Tango Foxtrot!?!  Why did I make these?  I’ve never even had shoo fly pie, so why did I use my limited baking time to make something so bizarre?  Somebody slap me.  The only reasoning I can make of this is that I normally love molasses in baked goods {proof here}, so that must be why I went for it?   I.don’t.know.

But with that being said, they weren’t totally disgusting or revolting, just different.  More like muffins than cupcakes for sure as far as texture goes.  They call for one cup of molasses and I should have known better…molasses = bitter.

If you’re a fan of the shoo fly, give them a try, but I think I’m going to lose the recipe so I don’t make the same mistake twice.

Shoofly Cupcakes

Source:  Taste of Home Cupcakes and Muffins

4 cups AP flour

2 cups packed brown sugar

1/4 tsp salt

1 cup cold butter

2 tsp baking soda

2 cups boiling water

1 cup molasses

In a large bowl, combine flour, brown sugar, and salt.  Cut in butter until crumbly.  Set aside 1 cup for topping.  Add baking soda to remaining crumb mixture.  Stir in the boiling water and molasses.

Fill paper lined muffin cups 2/3 full.  Sprinkle with reserved crumbs.   Bake at 350 for 20-25 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.  Cool for 10 minutes before removing from pans to wire racks to cool completely.

Yield: 2 dozen

Note:  Does not contain eggs

Leave a Reply

