Buttercream Frosting

First of all, do you say frosting or icing?  I say both interchangeably, I think.  Is there a right and wrong?

Anywho, it was brought to my attention that my buttercream icing recipe isn’t very easy to find on here, so I’m making a post devoted to it.  🙂  I think I originally blogged it in my Easter ’09 post.  I basically use a combination of techniques and recipes that I have learned over the years….from a family friend who makes wedding cakes, my Wilton books, and my Wilton instructor at Michael’s.

Buttercream Frosting {not pure white}

Ingredients:

1 stick {1/2 cup) butter

1/2 cup white Crisco

1/2 cup water  {maybe less if its a humid day}

tiny pinch of salt – optional

1/2 tsp clear butter extract

1/2 tsp clear vanilla extract

1 tablespoon meringue powder – optional {I believe it adds stability to the frosting, especially when making flowers.  They hold their shape.}

1 {2 pound} bag of powdered sugar, sifted

Directions:

Cream Crisco, butter, water, extracts/flavoring, and salt in bowl of stand mixer until smooth.  Slowly add sugar and meringue powder, scraping side of bowl 2 or 3 times.  Once all of the sugar is incorporated, turn mixer to medium high and mix until very fluffy.

Notes:

The recipe above creates slightly off-white frosting.  If you want pure white frosting, you’ll need to use all Crisco and no butter.  If you are going to color the frosting anyway, you can use all butter.  If using all butter, omit the butter flavoring and substitute almond extract or more vanilla extract.

I have never measured how much frosting this makes.  If I had to guess, I would say 5 cups.  It is definitely enough to frost a 9″ layer cake or a sheet cake that is 11″ x 15″.  I make additional frosting if I’m doing a lot of decorations {like flowers} in addition to the base layer of frosting.

The consistancy will be medium, but spreadable.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Strawberry Lemon Cupcakes « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

