Strawberry Hand Pies

I have wanted to make hand pies for about 2 years now and never got around to it until now!  I’ve seen the little hand-held pies all over the blogs that I read, so I finally took the plunge.

Because it seems I have to adapt every recipe I make for one reason or another, I adapted this recipe by not using the pastry dough listed below.  I had to do this for a couple of reasons.  For one I was a little short on time, and I already had some of my go-to pastry dough in the freezer.  And two, I thought I was going to share them with my brother-in-law who can’t have milk.  My standard pastry dough does not contain milk and the one shown below does.  But as it turned out, I didn’t share these with him after all. 😉

Just for comparison, I do want to make them again using the recommended dough recipe listed below.

Strawberry Hand Pies

Source:  adapted from Beantown Baker, filling recipe originally from Smitten Kitchen

Pastry Dough
9-1/2 ounces all-purpose flour, approximately 2 cups
2 tsp baking powder
3/4 tsp kosher salt
2-1/2 ounces shortening, approximately 6 tablespoons
3/4 cup milk

Egg Wash

1 egg mixed with 1 to 2 teaspoons water

Filling
2 pounds of strawberries (~4 cups, chopped)
1/4 cup flour
1/4 cup sugar
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp vanilla extract

Make the Filling
Hull and cut strawberries into small pieces.  Mix them with the flour, sugar and pinch of salt, and add vanilla.

Make the Pastry Dough
In the bowl of a food processor, combine the flour, baking powder and salt.  Pulse for a few seconds and then pour into a large mixing bowl.

Add the shortening and knead it into the flour with your hands until it is crumbly.

Add the milk all at once and mix in with a spatula until it begins to come together.

Lightly flour your hands and the countertop and turn the dough out onto the countertop. Knead the dough ball, folding over 10 to 20 times.

Using a rolling pin roll the dough to 1/3 to 1/2-inch thickness, then cut into rounds using a 2 1/4-inch ring. Roll each round as thinly as possible or to 5 to 6 inches in diameter.

Spoon 1 to 2 tablespoons of filling onto the dough, brush the edges of half of the dough lightly with the egg wash, fold over and seal the edges together with the tines of a fork, dipping it into flour as needed.  Gently press down to flatten and evenly distribute the filling and snip or cut 3 slits in the top of the pie.

Brush a little bit of egg wash on the outside of the pie and sprinkle with coarse decorating sugar.

To bake pies, preheat the oven to 350 degrees F.  Place finished pies onto an ungreased cookie sheet {I used parchment paper} and bake for 25 to 30 minutes or until golden brown.

Leave a Reply

