Refrigerator Sweet Pickles

We planted cucumbers in our garden this year with the intent to make pickles first and foremost.  Sure, we love plain cucumbers added to salads and used as dippers for hummus and other dips too, but pickles were the plan.

Then it came time to actually make and can the pickles and I panicked.  Why?  I dunno.  The only two kitchen related fears I have are working with yeast and canning.  I can usually overcome the fear of yeast and am able to go ahead and bake with it.  But someone needs to talk me down from the ledge regarding canning!

So, I consider this recipe a compromise with canning.  Dipping my toe into the water if you will.  We still get pickles out of the deal, but I don’t have to can using a water-bath or pressure cooker.

A word of warning:  Due to the turmeric, this liquid may stain everything it touches including your fingernails, light colored countertops, plastic spoons and bowls, etc.  Use the necessary precautions that you see fit such as working on a cutting board to protect your countertop, wearing disposable plastic gloves {I didn’t, but I haven’t had a manicure in over 3 years.}, and using metal spoons and glass bowls.

Also, if you’ve been reading this blog for awhile, you should not be surprised that I couldn’t find an ingredient at my local grocery stores, so I had to substitute pickling spice for the whole mustard seed.

Refrigerator Pickles

Source:  family recipe

Yield:  one large jar of pickles

Ingredients:

1/2 tsp salt

1 tsp turmeric

1/4 tsp mustard seed {I subbed a pickling spice mixture containing mustard seeds}

1/4 tsp celery seed

3/4 cup sugar

1/2 cup cider vinegar

2 small onions, thinly sliced

3 cups thinly sliced unpeeled cucumbers {about 2 medium cucumbers}

Directions:

Place the sliced cucumbers and onions in a large glass microwave-safe bowl.

In a small bowl combine the dry ingredients.  Add the vinegar to the dry ingredients and mix well.  Then pour over the cucumbers and pickles.

Microwave uncovered on high power for 5 minutes.  Stir well and microwave for 5 more minutes.

Pour or spoon all of the onions, cucumbers, and liquid into a clean jar using a wide mouth canning funnel, add lid, and refrigerate.

I don’t know if its necessary, but I give the jars an occasional gentle shake over the first 3-4 hours that they’re in the fridge.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Katie
    Jul 20, 2010 @ 16:30:02

    Sometime I will have to help you with pressure canning and water bath canning. They are both really easy once you get over being afraid of blowing up the house with the pressure canner. After canning over 100 quarts of green beans last year, I got over that fear very quickly!!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Garden Update September 2010 « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

