French Breakfast Puffs

I wanted to have a homemade breakfast item on hand for the week, so I did a little baking and whipped up these muffins.  Since cinnamon and sugar is one of my favorite flavors, I thought they were very good!  There’s nothing French about them necessarily, but that’s okay!

I made a few changes that include reducing the amount of salt, adding a teaspoon of vanilla extract, and subbing buttermilk for regular milk.  I just can’t make a baked good without a little vanilla and I just happened to have some buttermilk that needed to be used, so I figured it wouldn’t hurt to use that instead.

I also reduced the amount of topping ingredients because I thought it sounded like an awful lot of butter and I didn’t want to have any leftover that would be wasted.  But it turned out that I ran out of my reduced toppings!  I could have melted up some more butter, but I was too lazy so I just left a few muffins {maybe 3?} plain.

French Breakfast Puffs

Source: Pioneer Woman

Ingredients

  • 3 cups Flour
  • 3 teaspoons Baking Powder
  • 1 teaspoon Salt {I used 1/2 tsp}
  • ½ teaspoons Ground Nutmeg
  • 1 cup Sugar
  • ⅔ cups Shortening {I used butter flavored Crisco}
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup Milk {I used buttermilk}

Topping

  • 1-½ cup Sugar  {I used one cup}
  • 3 teaspoons Cinnamon
  • 2 sticks Butter {I used 1 stick, but ran out so I just didn’t coat all the muffins}

Preparation Instructions

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Lightly grease 12 muffin cups.

In a large bowl stir together flour, baking powder, salt, and nutmeg. Set aside.

In your mixer bowl, cream together 1 cup sugar and shortening. Then add eggs & vanilla and mix again. Add flour mixture and milk alternately to creamed mixture, beating well after each addition.

Fill prepared muffin cups 2/3 full {or more, mine were pretty much heaping}. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-25 minutes or until golden.

In a bowl, melt 2 sticks butter. In a separate bowl combine remaining sugar and cinnamon. Dip baked muffins in butter, coating thoroughly, then coat with cinnamon-sugar mixture.

Eat them while they’re warm!  Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

