Ducky Cookies

The past few months have brought many new babies into my extended family so I had the opportunity to make a meal for two of the moms.  Along with the meals that I provided, I also took a treat in the form of cookies.  Who doesn’t love a cute cookie?

I was really excited for the chance to use royal icing again and to try to improve my decorating skills.  However, I’m still pretty new at it, so I stuck with one color.  I intended to add faces to the ducks, but they weren’t quite dry enough for the edible marker to work before I had to transport them.  Maybe next time.

I also wanted to do step-by-step instructions of how I made these, but my camera battery died.  And I also realized I have no business giving directions on something that I suck at.  Here’s what I did photograph though:

prepared work surface

cut out dough

baked and cooled cookies

decorated

I doubled this recipe for the sugar cookies.  But substituted lemon extract for the almond extract.  Honestly, I didn’t think the cookies were sweet enough so next time I’ll roll them out using powdered sugar instead of flour.  And I need to stop rolling the dough so thin!

And I used this recipe for the royal icing.

all packed up

I definitely encourage you to check out Bridget’s Blog called Bake at 350.  She is awesome at decorating cookies!!

Leave a Reply

