Brie en Croute

Baked brie is something I have spotted on blogs and in magazines for many years.  I always knew I would enjoy it, but I guessed that Tim never would.  So I had to wait for an occasion where it could be enjoyed by a crowd.  Well, the opportunities finally came this year.  I prepared it for Thanksgiving at my house and for Christmas at my mom and dad’s.  It was excellent.  Gooey, buttery pastry, tart cranberries, and flaky are a few ways to describe it.  I definitely recommend it!  I hope you don’t wait as long as I did to try it!

Brie en Croute

source: adapted from Pepperidge Farm

Ingredient measurements are approximate:

1/2 package of puff pastry {one sheet}

1/4 cup honey

1/3 cup dried cranberries or cherries

1/4 cup finely chopped nuts – almonds, pecans, or walnuts

1 wheel of brie – approx 1 pound {I cut the rind off}

egg wash {one egg + 1 Tbs water}

Directions:

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

Thaw pastry sheet at room temp for 40 minutes, then unfold and roll into a 14″ square.

Place nuts, dried fruit, and honey in center of dough.  Place brie on top, fold the dough to close and press seems to seal, cutting off any excess dough.  Invert and decorate with pastry scraps.  Place seam side down on baking sheet.  Brush with egg wash.

Bake 20 minutes or until golden.  Let stand at least 15 minutes before serving {or up to one hour}.

Serve with crackers, apple slices, crusty bread, etc.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

