Beef and Butternut Squash Stew

I love my husband and the way he surprises me out of the blue sometimes.  He noticed that we had a butternut squash sitting on the counter for quite some time and he took it totally upon himself to find a recipe to use it up.  He called me over to his computer, showed me this recipe and said he would like me to make it. 🙂  I was so surprised by his research that I was happy to comply.

The only major change that I made was using a can of stewed tomatoes in place of the sun-dried tomatoes.  I’m assuming the stewed tomatoes resulted in a more mild tomato flavor than the sun-dried ones.  At least I have always found sun-dried tomatoes to be pretty intense, but it was still delicious allowed the beef and squash to be the stars of the dish.

Beef and Butternut Squash Stew

Source:  Giada De Laurentiis

Ingredients

  • 3 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 large onion, peeled and chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1 tablespoon minced fresh rosemary {I used dried}
  • 1 tablespoon chopped fresh thyme {I used dried}
  • 2 pounds stew beef, cut into 2-inch cubes
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more to taste
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus more to taste
  • 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup Marsala wine {I just used whatever red wine I had open from the night before}
  • 1 pound butternut squash, peeled, trimmed and cut into 2-inch cubes
  • 1/4 cup chopped sun-dried tomatoes {I used one can of stewed tomatoes}
  • 3 to 4 cups beef broth
  • 2 tablespoons fresh chopped flat-leaf parsley
  • Crusty bread, for serving

Directions

In a large soup pot heat 3 tablespoons of olive oil over medium heat. Add the onions, garlic, rosemary, and thyme.  Saute until the onions are tender, about 2 minutes. Toss the beef cubes in salt and pepper and flour. Turn up the heat to med-high and add the beef to the pot. Cook until the beef is browned and golden around the edges, about 5 minutes. Add the wine. Using a wooden spoon, gently stir up all the brown bits off the bottom of the pan. Add the squash and sun-dried tomatoes and stir to combine.  Add enough beef broth to just cover the beef and squash. Bring the stew to a boil over high heat, then reduce the heat to low and simmer, covered, for 1 hour.  Season the stew with additional salt and pepper to taste.  Sprinkle with the chopped parsley.  Serve with crusty bread alongside.

Leave a Reply

