Chocolate Chip Pie

This is a recipe that I have known about for a couple of years and always wanted to try.  I just had to get a copy of it from my sister, which I finally did a few months ago.  For whatever reason, I kept forgetting to ask her for it.  It is a pie that her in-laws make for holidays and it sounded really good to me.  It’s basically one gigantic cookie, that is a little on the gooey side.  It’s very rich, so a small sliver is the perfect serving.
I made a few additions – salt and vanilla.  To me, it’s just not right to leave them out since the salt brings out the sweetness and the vanilla enhances the chocolate flavor.
Chocolate Chip Pie
{source:  my sister’s in-laws, adapted from Toll House}
  • INGREDIENTS:
  • 1 unbaked 9-inch deep-dish pie shell
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 cup butter, melted and cooled to room temp.
  • 1 cup semi-sweet chocolate chips
  • 1 cup chopped pecans
  • pinch of salt {my addition}
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract {my addition}
  • Sweetened whipped cream or ice cream – optional for serving

Directions

PREHEAT oven to 325° F.

BEAT eggs in large mixer bowl on high speed until foamy. Beat in flour, granulated sugar and brown sugar. Beat in butter, vanilla, and salt.  Stir in morsels and nuts.  Spoon into pie shell.  Cover edges of crust with foil to prevent over browning.

BAKE for about 1 hour or a little more, until knife inserted halfway between edge and center comes out clean.  Cool on wire rack.  Serve warm with whipped cream or ice cream, if desired.

Leave a Reply

