Black Bean Soup

I’m on a roll with the super quick meals lately!  First, there was the pierogi skillet, then tortellini soup, then Mongolian beef, and now this black bean soup.  I’m stoked!

Meals generally take me 45 minutes to one hour to prepare, so I could not be happier to have a few go-to meals for stressful work nights.  If I leave work right on time and make no stops on the way, I get home at 6:15.  Usually, I’m starving and I would really prefer to eat at {or before} 7:00.  Unfortch, that doesn’t happen very often.  By the time I cook for an hour, eat, and clean up – my night is shot.  So, I can’t stress enough how thrilled I am when a meal cooks fast.  I’ll be even more thrilled when it is still daylight at dinner time for the sake of my pictures. 😉

What time to you eat dinner?

Another great thing about this recipe, in my opinion, is that it calls for prepared salsa which already has garlic and other spices in it.  So you don’t have to measure out a bunch of spices to add to the soup and the flavor is great.

Black Bean Soup

Source:  adapted from Simple & Delicious Nov/Dec 2009

Ingredients:

1 Tbsp olive oil

half of a medium red onion, chopped

half a green bell pepper, seeded and chopped – optional

1 can of corn, drained {or 1 cup frozen corn}

3/4 cup salsa

1 can {15 oz.} of black beans, rinsed and drained – next time I will probably use 2 cans

one 14.5 oz. can of chicken broth

Directions:

Heat the oil in a soup pot.  Add the onion and bell pepper, saute until tender.  Add the corn, black beans, salsa, and broth.  Bring to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 5-10 minutes.  Serve with sliced avocado, a squeeze of lime juice, and/or tortilla chips.

Yield:  4 servings.

Leave a Reply

