Bow Tie Pasta with Chicken and Artichokes

I have been on a mission to organize my recipes recently and it is no small task.   Really, it’s a major feat.  I literally have thousands of loose leaf recipes that I’ve torn out of magazines, printed from websites, or photocopied from various books.  I have accumulated them over the past 5 years and the collection is no joke.  Over that time I would try to place them in binders, but they weren’t really in any order.  I would guess that 3/4 of them made it into those clear 3-ring binder page protector things, but the other 1/4 were loosely stuffed in among the pages.  Soup recipes were among dessert recipes, a waffle recipe was next to a casserole recipe.  You get the idea – it was chaos.  I needed to sort it all out.

So, I have been sorting it out and I feel like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders.  I guess my tastes have changed quite a bit over the years because I was able to throw away many, many pages that I was no longer interested in.  Also on the up side, I rediscovered some long-lost recipes that I’m really excited about.  This was one of those recipes.  🙂

I came across this recipe and wanted to make it because it reminded me of these two summer pasta dishes {here and here} that I made last year, but this recipe uses pantry staples more suitable to winter.

A 1/2 pound of sliced fresh mushrooms was listed in the recipe, but I left them out.

Pasta with Chicken and Artichokes

source:  Taste of Home magazine;  Simple & Delicious Edition Nov. and Dec. 2009

Ingredients:

2 Tbsp olive oil

1 pound chicken breasts or tenders, cut into 1/2″ pieces

8 oz bow tie pasta – I used mini

1 medium red onion, chopped

2 tbsp white wine

1 can artichoke hearts; rinsed, drained, and quartered

1 can fire roasted diced tomatoes or Italian style diced tomatoes with garlic, undrained

fresh or dried basil

shaved Parmesan cheese

Directions:

Cook pasta in salted, boiling water.

Meanwhile, in a large skillet, saute chicken on olive oil until no longer pink.  Remove and keep warm.

In the same skillet, saute onion {and mushrooms if using} until tender.  Add wine, reduce heat to medium, stir in tomatoes, artichokes, and chicken.  Cook until heated through.  Taste and adjust seasoning with s&p.  Combine with the cooked, hot pasta.  Add basil.  Serve with Parm on top.

Yield:  5 large servings.

Leave a Reply

