Breakfast Smoothies

Instead of my usual piping hot cup(s) of coffee every morning I have been making these smoothies since the weather turned very warm a few days ago. Yum! I love the coffee-banana-peanut butter flavor! And they keep me full all morning.

To make the coffee ice cubes – brew a strong pot of coffee, let it cool, then pour into ice cube trays and freeze. Transfer to a large storage bag and keep in the freezer.

Breakfast Smoothies
1 banana, sliced into chunks
1 (or two) heaping tablespoon of natural peanut butter {or I have been loving almond butter}
handful of coffee ice cubes (about 6)
1 cup vanilla soy or almond milk

Place everything in the blender, pulse until smooth.  Pour into glass.  Serves 2.

Up next I’m going to try a green monster smoothie:
1 banana (or any fruit/combo)
large handful of baby spinach leaves
1 cup vanilla almond milk
handful of regular ice cubes (or green tea ice cubes)
1/2 cup yogurt
1 tsp honey or agave nectar

It sounds like I need to get some flax seed and protein powder if I’m really going to get into these shakes? Thoughts?

Update 6/21/11:  I made the green monster smoothie yesterday morning and it was ok, but a little on the tangy side and tasted like it was missing something but I couldn’t figure out what.

I used:  1 medium banana that was sliced and frozen, handful of green tea ice cubes, handful of spinach leaves, 1/2 cup vanilla Greek yogurt, 2 tsp agave nectar, and about 1/2 cup or so unsweetened vanilla almond milk.  I’m not sure what else it needs??

I guess I’m going to try adding blueberries and strawberries.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. melissa wolven
    Jun 20, 2011 @ 04:38:37

    Um…yum! I love this idea and am so going to do this! I love my morning coffee, but felt like an idiot sweating at swimming lessons last week with my second cup in hand! This would be perfect!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

