Sausage and Shrimp Skewers

I always think grilling skewers will be a good idea right up until I’m actually in the thick of assembling them.  Then I’m cursing myself.  Hard.  Sure, they are pretty, yummy, and cook really fast but it takes forever to prep supplies, chop, peel the shrimp, and then finally thread them.  Oh don’t forget to make the side dishes to go with…rice or quinoa, steamed veggies, etc.  Urggg!  For some reason I always say “never again” only to put skewers back on the menu again a few months later.  I never learn.

You however, can be better than me if you are efficient and have good time management skills.  I need to remember to make these on a night when I have time for a little extra work, or maybe I’ll remember to do some prep ahead.  I hope I can be organized like that.  For starters – chop the sausage and onion ahead of time, begin soaking the skewers right away, then start on the side dish (quinoa in this case), then peel the shrimp, then assemble. Good luck!

For these skewers I used:

6 or 7 bamboo skewers – soak them in liquid to avoid burning (water, fruit juice, chicken broth)

1/2  pound medium-large shrimp, peel and de-vein them and then toss in salt-free Cajun seasoning

1 pound smoked sausage, sliced into large pieces

1/2 of a red onion, cut into chunks

{cherry tomatoes would be awesome, but the store didn’t have any}

Thread everything alternately on the skewers.  Grill for about 7 minutes or until shrimp is opaque.

I served them with Quinoa with black beans {recipe coming soon}.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Quinoa with Black Beans « EASY AS PIE!

Leave a Reply

